RiverCOG, 145 Dennison Road, Essex, CT 06426      
(860) 581-8554 [email protected]

About Us

The RiverCOG region is comprised of the seventeen member municipalities of Chester, Clinton, Cromwell, Deep River, Durham, East Haddam, East Hampton, Essex, Haddam, Killingworth, Lyme, Middlefield, Middletown, Old Lyme, Old Saybrook, Portland and Westbrook. The Chief Elected/Executive Officials of each municipality sit on the RiverCOG board, which along with our two regional transit districts and chamber of commerce, serves as the region’s Metropolitan Planning Organization (MPO) policy board.

The region encompasses 443 square miles and is home to 175,685 people (according to 2010 census information).

Members of the Council of Governments

The RiverCOG board is comprised of the following members:

  • Anthony Salvatore, Town Manager, Cromwell (Chair)
  • Lauren Gister, First Selectman, Chester (Vice Chair)
  • Edward Bailey, First Selectman, Middlefield (Secretary)
  • Karl Kilduff, Town Manager, Clinton
  • Angus McDonald, Jr., First Selectman, Deep River
  • Laura Francis, First Selectman, Durham
  • Irene Haines, First Selectman, East Haddam
  • David Cox, Town Manager, East Hampton
  • Norm Needleman, First Selectman, Essex
  • Bob McGarry, First Selectman, Haddam
  • Nancy Gorski, First Selectman, Killingworth
  • Steve Mattson, First Selectman, Lyme
  • Ben Florsheim, Mayor, Middletown
  • Tim Griswold, First Selectman, Old Lyme
  • Carl Fortuna, First Selectman, Old Saybrook
  • Ryan Curley, First Selectman, Portland
  • John Hall, First Selectman, Westbrook 


RiverCOG is the result of the merger of the Connecticut River Estuary (CRERPA) and Midstate regional planning organizations. Prior to 2012 there were fifteen such RPOs in Connecticut, with each agency in existence for at least 50 years. The leaders of CRERPA and Midstate, being aware of an ongoing legislative effort to reduce the number of RPOs in the state, were the first to voluntarily merge. This joint effort arose from the desire to maintain the scenic lower Connecticut River as the core of our region, rather than as a possible boundary for several regions.


Our office is located in the Village of Centerbrook in the historic Elisha Mather House (1787).

Please visit our Staff page for specific phone extensions and email addresses.

145 Dennison Road, Essex, CT 06426  |  (860) 581-8554  |  [email protected]

©Copyright , Lower Connecticut River Valley Council of Governments.