(860) 581-8554 [email protected]

The Council of Governments

The Council of Governments is comprised of the member municipalities Chief Executive Officials. As such, the RiverCOG is comprised of thirteen First Selectmen, one Mayor and three Town Managers.

Current Board Members

  • Anthony Salvatore, Town Manager, Cromwell (Chair)
  • David Cox, Town Manager, East Hampton (Vice Chair)
  • Bob McGarry, First Selectman, Haddam (Secretary)
  • Carl Fortuna, First Selectman, Old Saybrook (Treasurer)
  • Cindy Lignar, First Selectman, Chester
  • Karl Kilduff, Town Manager, Clinton
  • Carol Doak-Jones, First Selectman, Deep River
  • Brendan Rea, First Selectman, Durham
  • Irene Haines, First Selectman, East Haddam (At-Large Executive Committee Member)
  • Norm Needleman, First Selectman, Essex
  • Eric Couture, First Selectman, Killingworth
  • David Lahm, First Selectman, Lyme
  • Robert Yamartino, First Selectman, Middlefield
  • Ben Florsheim, Mayor, Middletown
  • Martha Shoemaker, First Selectwoman, Old Lyme
  • Ryan Curley, First Selectman, Portland (At-Large Executive Committee Member)
  • John Hall, First Selectman, Westbrook 

2024 Schedule of Meeting Dates

The RiverCOG board holds public meetings on the fourth Wednesday of the month at 9:00 a.m. virtually or at our Essex office, located at 145 Dennison Road, Essex, CT.

  • January 24 – In Person

  • February 28- Virtual

  • March 27 – In Person

  • April 24 – Virtual

  • May 22 – Virtual

  • June 26 – In Person

  • July 24 – Virtual

  • August – No Meeting

  • September 25 – In Person

  • October 23 – Virtual

  • November 20 – Virtual
  • December 11 – In Person Legislative Meeting

Partners of RiverCOG

Links to some of our many partner organizations that the support and participate in the 17-town RiverCOG region.

Federal Partners

State Partners

Regional Partners

Municipal Partners

Transit Partners

Additional Partners


No posts found